Travel

Flower Shows and Festivals Showcase Spring Blooms

Friday Mar 1, 2013
  • PRINT
  • COMMENTS (0)
  • LARGE
  • MEDIUM
  • SMALL

Snow is still in the forecast for some locales, but other places are getting ready for spring. And the season’s beauty will be on display with festivals and flower shows around the country, from events showcasing cherry blossoms in Washington D.C. and Brooklyn, N.Y., to celebrations of dogwoods, camellias and azaleas in the South, to apple blossom and tulip festivals in the Northwest.

To kick things off, the Philadelphia Flower Show invites the LGBT community to get an early start at a fabulous evening of networking and sophistication at the LGBT Party on Sunday, March 3. Hors d’oeuvres, signature cocktails and a special appearance by Martha Graham Cracker are sure to help things bloom. Presented by G Philly.

Here are some of the best and biggest festivals and flower shows around the U.S. this spring.

Events
Atlanta Dogwood Festival, April 19-21, Piedmont Park, Atlanta, www.dogwood.org

Biltmore Blooms Festival of Flowers, March 21-May 31, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, N.C.
www.biltmore.com

Boston Flower & Garden Show, March 13-17, Seaport World Trade Center, Boston,
www.bostonflowershow.com

Camellia Walks, through March 23, Middleton Place, Charleston, S.C.
www.middletonplace.org

Celebrate Spring, March 1-April 30, Callaway Gardens, Pine Mountain, Ga., http://www.callawaygardens.com/

Chicago Flower & Garden Show, March 9-17, Navy Pier, Chicago, http://www.chicagoflower.com

Daffodil Days, April 6-28, Blithewold Mansion, Gardens & Arboretum, Bristol, R.I., http://www.blithewold.org

Daffodil Festival, April 26-28, Nantucket, Mass., http://www.nantucketchamber.org

Dallas Blooms, March 2-April 7, Dallas Arboretum, http://www.dallasarboretum.org

Epcot International Flower and Garden Festival, March 6-May 19, Walt Disney World, Lake Buena Vista, Fla., https://disneyworld.disney.go.com/events-tours/epcot/epcot-international-flower-and-garden-festival/

Festival of Flowers, March 21-24, Bellingrath Gardens, Theodore, Ala. (near Mobile), http://www.bellingrath.org

Garden Conservancy’s Open Days (more than 300 private gardens in 18 states open to public on select dates March-November), http://www.opendaysprogram.org

Hatsume Fair, March 23-24, Morikami Museum and Japanese Gardens, Delray Beach, Fla., http://www.morikami.org/

Garden Club of Virginia’s Historic Garden Week, tours at various sites April 20-27, http://www.VAGardenweek.org

Lilac Festival, May 10-19, Rochester, N.Y., http://www.lilacfestival.com/

National Cherry Blossom Festival, March 20-April 14, Washington, D.C., http://www.nationalcherryblossomfestival.org/

Philadelphia Flower Show, March 2-10, Pennsylvania Convention Center, Philadelphia, http://www.philaflowershow.com

Sakura Matsuri Festival, April 27-28, Brooklyn Botanic Garden, Brooklyn, N.Y., http://www.bbg.org

San Francisco Flower & Garden Show, March 20-24, San Mateo Event Center, San Mateo, Calif., http://sfgardenshow.com/

Shenandoah Apple Blossom Festival, April 26 - May 5, Winchester, Va., http://www.thebloom.com

Skagit Valley Tulip Festival, April 1-30, Mount Vernon, Wash., http://www.tulipfestival.org/

Tulip Time Festival, Holland, Mich,, May 4-11, http://www.holland.org/visitors/tulip-time-festival/

Tulip Time, May 2-4, Pell, Iowa, http://www.pellatuliptime.com/tulip-time/

Washington State Apple Blossom Festival, April 25-May 5, Wenatchee, Wash., http://www.appleblossom.org/

Wistaria Festival, March 17, Sierra Madre, Calif., http://www.sierramadrenews.net/?page_id=259

Copyright Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Comments

Add New Comment

Comments on Facebook